Saturday, March 20, 2010

Are you on LinkedIn blacklist? Check out the Tips to help you stay out of it



You might not be well aware yet that LinkedIn has a blacklist, since the "punishment" installed hasn't been made too obvious: it's more an "implied suggestion" rather than a rule. LinkedIn tells you not to invite people you don’t know, but they don’t make the "side effects" clear.

See the page below which asks you about the "source of your connection" each time you hit an invite button:



The thing is that if 5 people say they don’t know you, you get blacklisted. How this may happen?

If your invitation is sent to someone on LinkedIn, the person has the option to Accept, Archive, or say “I don’t know this user”. It's enough for 5 people to say “I don’t know this user” and you are put on the "uncomfortable" LinkedIn blacklist. Thus, every time you want to invite someone in the future you will need to type in the person's email address, which is particularly disturbing when you’re trying to connect with:

* childhood friends;
* college friends;
* sales contacts;
* someone you've recently met on a busy networking event;
* anyone else you haven’t seen for a long time and LinkedIn appears to be the only source (particularly since you don't have a clue about this person's email)

Now the questions are:

1. How do you find if you are approaching to the "fearful 5" or if you've already exceeded your 5 IDNs?

2. How do you find who marked "I don't know this user" on your invitation?

Here are the steps you need to take to ensure your invite feature comfort:

* Open your LinkedIn home page;
* Access the Inbox on the left and choose Sent option;
* Go to the Inbox Sent page, click Status in the upper right to view the Invitations that you’ve sent;
* Now search for the status “Doesn’t Know”, which will appear in alphabetical order in the middle of the following:

* Accepted
* Bounced
* Doesn’t Know
* Expired
* In Progress
* Pending
* Replaced
* Sent

At this point you know the culprits. What can be done? Since you already know who denied your connection - get them to invite you instead (asking a referral invite: by means of your existing 1st level LinledIn connections or putting the effort to find their email addresses). This will eliminate the IDN restriction, which is only made slightly visible in the notice below, when you hit Find out Why button:



However, there's an other "anytime works best" option: sending an apology to LinkedIn’s customer service at cs@linkedin.com so that they reset your IDK’s unaware offence.

Remember to be mindful yourself before you click the IDK button. You can always click archive which:

* Will not put off someone’s credibility;
* Will allow you to think more about who the person is and come back to it at a later date.

Hope this was useful. Any comments and suggestions for the upcoming Digital Lunch Menu are welcome!

Cooking for you,

Digital Lunch Team
Print this post

4 comments:

Anonymous said...

its a very annoying occurence for recruiters as inevitably people will list career opportunities in their list and naturally recruiters will contact them on this pretext (according to the user settings) and then if the user gives an IDK the recruiter is blacklisted. This seems unfair when a user has listed career opportunity and has either failed to keep their profile up to date or not chosen and archive option.

@Digilunch said...

Suppose if all of us knew in the first place that such restrictions apply, we'd all take measures to protect our accounts and avoid these misunderstandings.. Thank you for sharing your case with us, appreciate your contribution!

Digital Lunch Team

Anonymous said...

Can anybody please let me know how a manager or HR people without the awareness of the candidate blacklist him and prevents him from getting a new job. I came to know that people frequently practice this attitude on a Social network site. Please also take a pain to let me know what is remedy of this and how it can be find out on SNS. One of my friend is probably suffering from this unfair behaviour.

Nadya on June 16, 2010 at 5:11 PM said...

Hi there,
thank you for your question. Although HR execs may have their own internal blacklists that they may share within their network (haven't heard so far of any particular ones ,publicly open). As for users' own accounts which may be blacklisted there are a couple of criteria I'd advice you to check:
1.breaking the terms of service (these are mentioned in terms of service);
2. self promotion and spam;
3. submitting innapropriate content;
4. trolling (getting blacklisted due to the nature of comments posted - we should always remember that social networks are broadcasting channels,too)
5. submitting or linking to low quality content (if you do that more than once).

To get your "social reputation" back (in this case- the account, the easiest way is to contact the site admin and address an apology, for example:


Dear [Social Website] Admin,

I’m having trouble logging into my account. It looks as though it may have been removed.

I’m not sure what happened, but if I have done something wrong I truly apologize. I have read the terms of service and am very careful to follow them.

Please let me know if there’s anything I can do.

Thanks in advance,

[BannedUser]

Hope that was helpful.
Best of luck,

Nadya @DigiLunch

Post a Comment

 

Copyright © 2009 MadTwins Corporation